Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh Review : Take N2

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Xiaomi has sold the most powerbanks in the globe. The company has announced 55 million sold units that means the Xiaomi powerbanks are really demanded. Probably, one of the main reasons why this manufacturer has succeeded is the wide range of products presented in this niche. Probably you know Xiaomi has launched powerbanks at a capacity of 5000mAh, 5200mAh, 10000mAh and 20000mAh. Thus it has a powerbank for anyone. We have already reviewed some of them such as the Xiaomi 10000mAh Mi Power Bank Pro, but the most popular products from this series is the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2. Especially this statement refers to the 20.000mAh capacity version. Today we are going to take a closer look at the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The first gen Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 20.000mAh only supports a fast charge input. I mean there is no fast charge output option. This device is priced at 149 yuan ($29). Fortunately, Xiaomi has announced the successor of its original PowerBank dubbed as the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh. It comes with a two-way fast charging option, many output options (5V2.4A, 9V2A, and 12V1.5A) as well as input options (5V / 2A, 9V / 2A, 12V / 1.5A). So it’s quite reasonable why this model is one of the best products in its niche.

Packaging

We have already come in with an unboxing article. But as this is a complete review of the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2, it’s better to take a peek at its packaging one more time.

The powerbank comes in a white simple box.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The upper back side carries some info about the product.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The left hands side comes with charging numbers concerning different top-notch smartphones. For example, the iPhone 7 can be charged 7.5 times; iPad Mini 2 can be charged 2.5 times; and the Xiaomi Mi 5 can be charged 5.1 times.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The opposite side gives info about the device such as two-way fast charge, polymer batteries, scratch-resistant and so on.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Once the box is opened, we can see the manufacturer acted very smart and came in with a very compact packaging. There is not much extra space.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

There is also a short micro USB cable besides the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Design

The overall appearance of this product has been reviewed a few weeks back. But we have to get familiar with the design elements one more time.

The product comes in a white textured housing. Only the Mi logo stands out.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The corners are rounded for better ergonomics as well as solidness. The sense of grip is very comfortable. It comes at dimensions of 13.55 x 6.76 x 2.39 cm. the boot button is on one side.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Once the power button is pressed the powerbank will turn the four lights on for a self-test. Thereafter it will show the current state. The four lights indicate the power state of 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100%, respectively.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The bottom side carries some info on the product. But the most important of them is the printing of 20.000mAh capacity.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The housing is made of plastic. It comes with small granular bumps to increase the anti-skid effect.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The power button is recessed about 0.5mm to prevent accidental presses. As you see, the design has been thought very carefully.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

To understand how handy it is, we’ve compared the Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh with other 20.000mAh capacity power banks.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

It’s not correct to say this product is very thick, but it’s very narrow.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

It weighs 327 grams.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Charging Details

There are two output ports at default voltage of 5V.

We have tested this powerbank by testing the iPad Mini 2.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The upper port (conditionally) showed 5.10V 2.07A output charging options.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The lower port showed 5.11V 2.07A.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

However, we also tested it by charging the iPhone 7 Plus. When both devices were connected the voltage got lower on both ports.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh was also tested with the LeEco Le Max 2. No activation of high pressure was noticed.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

We also charged the device via Anker A2025. It showed 11.94V 1.62A and power input of 19.4W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The same test was repeated with the Jdb seven-in-one. The powerbank showed 12.32V 1.67A and input power of 20.20W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

As for the Hammer CD07 single-port power supply, it was 5.24V 1.93A, and input power of 10.15W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Huawei dual-mode single-port charging showed 9.19V 1.83A and input power of 16.90W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

The test was continued with the CHOETECH six-port power supply. The details are 12.26V 1.68A and input power of 20.71W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

PowerPartner QC2.0 20V didn’t activated 20V. It showed 11.74V 1.65A and input power of 19.46W.

Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20000

Wrap Up

The Xiaomi Mi PowerBank 2 20.000mAh is very small if compared with other products from the same niche. But as the tests show, it is capable of charging even the iPad Mini 2 for several times. I mean 20.000mAh power in pocket for $36 is quite acceptable.

(xiaomitoday.com, https://goo.gl/QorwSK)

Comments

comments

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn