Google I/O 2018 Preview: Everything you need to know

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Google I/O 2018: Keynote news, rumours, dates and all you need to know

Google is set to take to the stage at its annual I/O Developer Conference to discuss the latest features, tools and utilities headed to its ecosystem, including Android Auto, Android P, Android TV, Chrome OS, Daydream, Google Assistant, Google Home and more. Here’s what you need to know about Google I/O 2018 including the dates, keynote details, and all the latest rumours.

Kết quả hình ảnh cho Google I/O 2018 Preview: Everything you need to know

Google I/O 2018: What is Google I/O?

Google I/O is the name of Google’s annual Developer Conference, where the firm discusses the future of the various products and services in its ecosystem. This year, it’s being held at the Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View, California, but it’s also live-streamed for loyal fans around the world to tune in and watch.

Kết quả hình ảnh cho Google I/O 2018 Preview: Everything you need to know

Google I/O 2018 Dates: When is Google I/O?

Google I/O will run from May 8 through May 10 and, as you’d expect, Big G has a lot planned for the gathering. That’s why it’s released an application for both Android and iOS that’s filled to the brim with must-know information, as well as a schedule for the event – so you can see what’s happening at any given moment.

Here are some of the highlights:

May 8

  • 10 am PDT/6 pm BST – Google Keynote with CEO Sundar Pichai
  • 12:45 pm PDT/8:45 pm BST – Google Developer Keynote with Jason Titus
  • 3 pm PDT/11 pm BST – What’s new with Android TV
  • 3pm PDT /11 pm BST – Lessons from Meltdown and Spectre

May 9

  • 10:30 am PDT/6:30 pm BST – What’s new in Google Photos
  • 10:30 am PDT/6:30 pm BST – What’s new in AR
  • 10:30 am PDT/6:30 pm BST – What’s new in Wear OS
  • 1:30 pm PDT/9:30 pm BST – Introducing AIY: DIY Artificial Intelligence

May 10

  • 9:30 am PDT/5:30 pm BST – What’s new in Android security
  • 10:30 am PDT/6:30 pm BST – Personalised Actions for Google Assistant
  • 10:30 am PDT/7:30 pm BST – Don’t let your app drain your users’ battery
  • 12:30 pm PDT/9:30 pm BST – Build a successful web presence with Search

Google I/O 2018 Keynote: Where can I watch Google I/O?

As I mentioned earlier, Google I/O will be live-streamed for the world to see. The stream will be hosted in three places: on Google’s dedicated Google I/O website; within the standalone Google I/O Android and iOS applications; and over on YouTube. We’ll also be hosting it on our site, so check back nearer the time for that.

Google I/O 2018 Rumours: What will be announced at Google I/O?

Here’s a look at what’s coming at Google I/O 2018.

Android Auto

Google has a slot timetabled to discuss its Android Auto in-car infotainment system, noting that it will showcase “a new media experience for Android Auto” and while we don’t know what exactly the firm has up its sleeve, we’re hedging our bets on more integration with Google’s services, like Assistant and Play Music.

Android P

It should come as no surprise to hear that Google is dedicating a considerable amount of its stage time at Google I/O to Android P, the next version of its mobile operating system. The bulk of the Android P news should take place during Big G’s opening keynote on May 8, where it should launch the second Developer Preview.

Google Assistant

Google unveiled much of the direction Assistant is headed at the start of 2018, but that’s not to mean it won’t touch on some of the few features at Google I/O. Some outlets believe the firm will take the wraps off its rumoured Echo Show rival at the gathering, but we think that’ll surface at its annual hardware event in October.

Google Photos

At Google I/O 2017, Google announced a number of new features for Google Photos, including Google Lens – and it doesn’t look like this year is going to be any different as the company has a keynote scheduled for May 9, once again entitled “What’s new in Google Photos”. What exactly is new, however, remains a mystery.

Wear OS

It’s all but confirmed that Google will showcase a new build of Wear OS – formerly known as Android Wear – at Google I/O 2018. The behemoth has a short discussion in the diary for May 8 to highlight all of the new improvements coming to Wear OS this year. There’s also a (small) chance it will announce some hardware.

We also expect Google to make several smaller announcements surrounding Android Messages, Android Things, Android TV, ARCore, Chrome OS and Daydream VR. Who knows? We could even see Big G’s long-rumoured Fuchsia OS debut at I/O 2018. Best not hold your breath, though – mum’s been the word as of late.

(trustedreviews.com, http://bit.ly/2jxkSig)

Comments

comments

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn